Monday, March 21, 2016

Political System in Bhutan

In 1907 the people unanimously enthroned Ugyen Wangchuck as the first hereditary King of Bhutan. In November 2001, on the advice of the Fourth King, a committee chaired by the Chief Justice of Bhutan, was formed to draft the constitution of Bhutan. The Constitution of Bhutan was launched in 2008 and with it a parliamentary democracy introduced.

The organs of the Bhutanese government now comprise of the Legislature, Judiciary and the Executive.

The legislative body or the Parliament comprises of the National Assembly and the National Council. The National Assembly comprises of 47 elected representatives from 47 constituencies of Bhutan. The National Council has 25 members of which 20 members are elected by the people as representative of each Dzongkhag (district) to National Council and 5 members are nominated by His Majesty, the Druk Gyalpo.

The Executive is central Government (ministries, departments and autonomous bodoes) and Local Government (Dzongkhag Tshogdu, Gewog Tshogde and Dzongkhag Thromde Tshogde).

The courts in Bhutan include the Supreme Court, the High Court, the Dzongkhag Courts, and the Dungkhag (sub-district) Courts. The Supreme Court is the highest court of law in Bhutan and the guardian of the constitution and the final authority on its interpretation. It is presided over by the Chief Justice of Bhutan while Dungkhag court is the lowest formal court in Bhutan.

No comments:

Post a Comment